3rd Hole Penalty Area
The penalty area on the 3rd hole is the area between the red line (that runs the full length of the hole) and the boundary fence (out of bounds). If you hit a ball off the tee (or from anywhere on this hole) to the left and into the bushes what should you do? Should you play a provisional ball? If it is lost what do you do? If you find it what are your options?
From the teeing ground it should be quite easy to determine whether you have hit your ball out of bounds. In reality, if the shot didn't soar over the bushes or trees to go into the neighbouring field it is virtually certain that it is in the penalty area. Therefore, if your decision is that it is not out of bounds, but is somewhere in the penalty area, DO NOT play a provisional ball. You will see from the rules below that by playing another ball from the tee if the first ball may be in the penalty area, this second ball immediately becomes the ball in play.
18.2b What to do when your ball is lost or out of bounds
If your ball is lost or out of bounds, you must take stroke-and-distance relief by adding one penalty stroke and playing a ball from where the previous stroke was made. (in this example 3 off the tee)
18.3a When Provisional Ball is Allowed
If your ball might be lost outside the penalty area or be out of bounds, to save time you may play another ball provisionally under penalty of stroke and distance
But if you are aware that the only possible place the original ball could be lost is in the penalty area, a provisional ball is not allowed and a ball played from where the previous stroke was made becomes the player’s ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance
18.3b Announcing Play of Provisional Ball
Before the stroke is made, you must announce that you are going to play a provisional ball.
It is not enough to say that you are playing another ball or are playing again.
You must use the word 'provisional' or otherwise clearly indicate that you are playing the ball provisionallly
If you find your original ball lying between the red line and the out of bounds or the ball is not found but is known or virtually certain that it came to rest in the penalty area , choose from the following:
17.1b You may play ball as it lies in penalty area or take penalty relief
You may either play the ball as it lies without penalty or play from outside the penalty area by taking penalty relief
17.1c Relief for your ball not found but in penalty area
If your ball has not been found and it is known or virtually certain that it came to rest in the penalty area you may take penalty relief under this rule.
But if it is not known or virtually certain that your ball came to rest in the penalty area and the ball is lost, you must take stroke-and-distance relief.
17.1d Relief for your ball in penalty area
You have relief options each for a penalty of one stroke.
When it is known or virtually certain that a ball is in a red penalty area and the player wishes to take relief, the player has three options, each for one penalty stroke:
1. The player may take stroke-and-distance relief
2. The player may take back-on-the-line relief
3. The player may take lateral relief
The reference point for taking lateral relief is:
The estimated point where the original ball crossed the edge of the red penalty area
Size of relief area:
Two club-lenghts from the reference point
Limits of relief area:
The relief area:
Must not be nearer the hole than the reference point, and may be any area of the course except the same penalty area